Final WA State Coalition Letter- updated as of 4/19/2017

You are still invited to sign onto our coalition letter even though we’ve submitted the final copy to OSPI.  It’s always a good thing when additional people share the same concerns. The state superintendent will hold a second round of commenting in the Spring with the final plan submission to the US Dept. of Education by September 18, 2017.

Please read the attached letter to decide if you would like to sign onto the coalition stating concerns with the WA State ESSA Consolidated Plan.  Our initial letter indicates concerns with usage of the Common Core State Standards and the Smarter Balanced Assessment.

Only your name and city within a group will be published, plus the group website.  Your email address will not be shared with anyone else.

The final edition of the letter for the ESSA Plan Public Comment Period (as of 2/15/17, 11:55pm) was sent to OSPI with the additional names of people signing on at that time.  We are still accepting additional names (marked with a *) to further build a case against Common Core and Smarter Balanced now that testing season is soon approaching.  We will also be sending a copy of the letter to the Washington State Board of Education with the additional names

See attached PDF letter:
Final ESSA WA Coalition letter_2-15-2017_1155pm

Resent 4/19/2017 to OSPI with additional names.  Pleading our case in light of WEA NBI# 34 attesting to developmentally inappropriate K-3rd standards.
ESSA WA Coalition _4-19-2017 Edition

Also in the meantime, please directly share your thoughts about Common Core and the Smarter Balanced Assessment, via email, to the following people at OSPI:

http://www.k12.wa.us/AboutUs/Leadership.aspx

Superintendent@k12.wa.us,
Jamila.Thomas@k12.wa.us,
Michaela.Miller@k12.wa.us,
Dave.Mastin@k12.wa.us,
Gayle.Pauley@k12.wa.us,
Deb.Came@k12.wa.us,
Kathe.Taylor@k12.wa.us,
Gil.Mendoza@k12.wa.us,

                                                                        

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s